List of Presidents of Pakistan

List of Presidents of Pakistan from 1947 to present

01Sikander Mirza (1899–1969)
Took officeLeft office
23 March 195627 October 1958
Election ………….Republican Party

Mirza served as the last Governor-General of Pakistan and became its first president after the 1956 Constitution was promulgated, which established a republic. He was deposed in 1958 by General Ayub Khan, whom Mirza had appointed as the Chief Martial Law Administrator in 1957.

02Ayub Khan (1907– 1974)
Took officeLeft office
27 October 195825 March 1969
Election …………. ………….

Ayub took control over thecountry after the 1958 coupdetat. He led Pakistan Into the 1965 war against India. In 1969, Ayub resigned Under pressure from opposition and handed over Power to General Yahya Khan.

03Yahya Khan (1917–1980)
Took officeLeft office
25 March 196920 December 1971
Election …………. ………….

Yahya took office after the resignation of Ayub Khan in 1969. He resigned after Pakistan’s defeat to India in the 1971 war.

04Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (1928– 1979)
Took officeLeft office
20 Decemb er 197113 August 1973
Election 20 December 1971Pakistan Peoples Party

Bhutto resigned as president to become the Prime Minister after the 1973 Constitution was Promulgated, which established a parliamentary system of government.

05Fazal Ilahi Chaudhry (1904–1982)
Took officeLeft office
14 August 197316 September 1978
Election 14 August 1973Pakistan Peoples Party

Chaudhry was the constitutional president, whose authority was exercised by Prime Minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto. Chaudhry resigned in 1978 and handed over the presidency to General Zia.

06Muhammad Zia-ul- Haq. (1924–1988)
Took officeLeft office
16 September 197817August 1988
Election ………….………….

Zia took de facto control over the country by leading the 1977 coupdetat. He served as the Chief Martial Law Administrator until 1979. He was killed in a plane crash, becoming the only
president to die in office.

07Ghulam Ishaq Khan (1915–2006)
Took officeLeft office
17August 198818 July 1993
Election 13 December

Khan took office after the Zia’s 1988 death. He attempted to dismiss the Nawaz Sharif government in 1993, but the Supreme Court overturned the president’s decision. Khan eventually resigned, along with Sharif, in an agreement brokered by the Armed Forces.

08Wasim Sajjad (1941–)
Took officeLeft office
18 July 199314 November 1993
Election ………….Pakistan Muslim League (N)
09Farooq Leghari (1940–2010)
Took officeLeft office
14 November 19932 December 1997
Election 14 Nove mber
Pakistan Peoples Party

Leghari was elected president in 1993, after the resignation of Ghulam Ishaq Khan. Afterwards, Leghari clashed with Prime inister Nawaz Sharif, and he finally resigned after being forced by The conservatives and persuaded by the Armed Forces.

10Wasim Sajjad (1941–)
Took officeLeft office
2 December 19971 January 1998
Election ………….Pakistan Muslim League (N)
11Muhammad Rafiq Tarar. (1929–)
Took officeLeft office
1 January 199820 June 2001
31 December 1997Pakistan Muslim League (N)

Tarar was the constitutional president, whose authority was exercised by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. Tarar resigned in 2001.

12Pervez Musharraf (1943–)
Took officeLeft office
20 June 200118 August 2008
Election ………….………….

Musharraf took de facto control over the country by leading the 1999 Pakistani coupdetat. He served as the Chief Executive until 2002. Musharraf resigned the presidency in 2008, to avoid impeachment.

13Muhammad Mian Soomro (1950–)
Took officeLeft office
18 August 20089 September 2008
Election ………….Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
14 Asif Ali Zardari (1955–)
Took officeLeft office
9 September 2008 8 September 2013
Election 6 september
Pakistan Peoples Party

Zardari was elected after Musharraf’s resignation in 2008. The passage of the 18th Amendment in 2010 reduced his vast presidential powers to that of a ceremonial figurehead.

15 Mamnoon Hussain (1940–)
Took officeLeft office
9 September 2013 September 8, 2018
Election 30 july 2013 Pakistan Muslim League (N)
16Dr Arif Alvi
Took officeLeft office
 9 September 2018. Present (2020)
Election …….. Pakistan Tareek-e-insaf